Teeny Tiny Dorset Buttons

Hello again!  I promised you buttons!  I found a beautifully illustrated tutorial on Dorset buttons here.  I wasn’t sure I’d be able to make them tiny enough, but had a go – and here they are.

They are made from 9mm jump rings and stranded embroidery thread:

Blanket stitches are worked around the ring:

At this point the stitches are supposed to be turned inwards, but the size of the ring made this step impossible so I just carried on.  I quite like the ridge effect this gave.  The last step is to weave the spokes:

All done!  I made some spares…

A couple of stitches and the shirt is finally, properly finished.  Phew!

Leave a Reply

