Ooh, Sparkly!

Hello!  It’s been a while since my last post.  I have been occupied drafting dress patterns and making master copies of them- a job I have been putting off for months so it feels good to put it behind me.  Now I can get on with making stuff!

October was a busy month – both littlebees came down with chicken pox so we were housebound for some of it.  Fortunately for me, though, my lovely worker bee had some time off and took over at home, allowing me to spend a few days with my mum doing grown-up stuff.  We had a spa day (wonderful!) and a trip to the ballet, and I had time to get on with a smocking project I have had on the back burner.

A while ago at a craft fair I fell in love with this slightly sparkly tartan, perfect for a little winter party dress:If you are a smocker you will know that tartans can be a pain to pleat – you have to be extra careful to get it straight or the whole thing looks crooked.  I think I did o.k. for a first attempt:Once pleated, however, the pattern is a useful guide for keeping the rows of smocking straight.  I wanted the smocking to look festive without being too obviously Christmassy (no stockings or Santas!).  This is my first attempt at ribbon weaving – I couldn’t resist the sparkly green ribbon!When the panel is fully blocked to size and the dress made up I will re-tie the bow more neatly, but you can get the idea from the picture (click on it to enlarge).

Watch this space for the finished dress! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

